Uncategorized

Cyrano de Bergerac..in German.

“A kiss, when all is said, what is it?

An oath that’s ratified, a sealed promise,

A heart’s avowal claiming confirmation,

A rose-dot on the ‘i’ of ‘adoration’;

A secret that to mouth, not ear, is whispered .” – Cyrano.

I went to see Cyrano played by Veit Shepherd Meier, last night performed by Stage Entertainment Productions. I paid €18.00 for the ticket and as much as it was good, I’m thinking I paid too much for something I couldn’t understand ! 😂

It was written by Edmon Rostand in 1897 and it is set in France in 1640. The costumes by Ulv Jakobsen were so great. Beautiful materials and definitely not half arsed! Think musketeers.. So cool.

So it’s a tragedy from what I could gather.. The young girl falls in love with the good looking guy but only for his words that are written by Cyrano, the guy with the nose. Controversial eh?! Ha. Then everyone dies..

The stage had a revolving middle and the set was minimal but effective. The dome steps had a middle block that could move out and add dimension. They also had a balcony that came out the doors on the side of the stage. Definitely Romeo and Juilet esk. Roxanne played by Lucy Scherer was stunning and you could see why she got leading lady!

Check out the fake nose on this guy ^^.

The actors were really great and the singing was amazing! I would have liked to have been in the show..It inspired me to learn the language and possibly try the German theatre scene.. I heard its good? Any information on that would be nice from you guys?

I tell you what was really interesting. Instead of focusing on the main action I had to focus on the whole picture to try and gain a better understanding. I had to look at the back drop and everyone’s facial expressions, the distance in which they were standing to the other characters to understand relationships. Looking at the bigger picture rather then relying on language to tell the story.

I did enjoy the outing and Bielefeld seemed a nice town/city. Maybe another place to explore.

Below is the town hall of Bielefeld. This is what I love about Germany the architecture is beautiful and so clean.

Bielefeld Rathaus

Here is a riddle for you:

“What can go up a chimney down, but not down a chimney up?”

Tschuss xx

Leave a Reply

